Oceanology International 2018: Diverse Programme of Technical Tracks

Alex Whitebrook/ January 9, 2018/ Press release/ 0 comments

The Technical Tracks conference programme for Oceanology International 2018 at ExCel, London (13-15 March 2018) has now been finalised, constituting the most extensive and cogent analysis of advances in ocean science and technology available under one roof.

The conference programme gets under way on Tuesday, 13 March 2018 with a Hydrography, Geophysics & Geotechnics track,chaired by Andy Hill, marine geohazard technical authority at BP Exploration, and Richard Salisbury, senior consultant at Fugro. This session will discuss data collation and examination methods used in mapping offshore seabed and sub-seabed environments, highlighting the benefits such studies confer upon the renewables, oil & gas, marine and coastal construction, telecommunications and seafloor mining industries.

On the same day, the Aquaculture track traces the ongoing development of marine aquaculture facilities and the consequent ramifications for the offshore aquaculture industry, and will be chaired by Lawrie Stove, managing director at AquaMoor; David Kelly, CEO & CTO, InnovaSea; and Keith Jeffery, Aquaculture Development Officer, Cefas.

The Ocean Observation & Sensing track, meanwhile, looks at refinements in the monitoring of ocean physics, chemistry and biology that may enhance existing weather, ocean and climate models. The session will be chaired by Carl Gouldman, director of U.S. Integrated Ocean Observing System (IOOS), NOAA; Matt Mowlem, head of the Ocean Technology and Engineering Group at the NOC; and Justin Manley, founder of Just Innovation.

Unmanned Vehicles and Vessels

The concluding Tuesday session will be part one of the Unmanned Vehicles and Vessels track, chaired by Steve Hall, CEO of SUT; Dan Hook, managing director of ASV Global; and Prof Russell Wynn, chief scientist of NOC’s Marine Autonomous and Robotic Systems. This will examine the potential dividends arising from the current and projected deployment of marine autonomous systems including ASVs, ROVs and AUVs.

The first track scheduled for Wednesday, 14 March 2018 is Delivering Efficiencies Across the Offshore Oil & Gas Life Cycle, chaired by Christopher Curran, senior consultant at CJC Enterprises, and Steve Barrett, senior vice president, Business

Development at Oceaneering. This timely new track will report upon cost-reduction measures which have been successfully implemented across all sectors of offshore developments

Another new track scheduled for Wednesday is Ocean Information & Communications Technology, chaired by Nick Lambert, maritime domain expert at the Satellite Applications Catapult; Dr Clare Postlethwaite, coordinator of the Marine Environmental Data and Information Network (MEDIN); and Dr Helen Wells, business group leader of Meteorology and Science at the Met Office. This session will be concerned with the inherent promise and expanding purview of open source data acquisition and connectivity.

Underwater Imaging and Metrology

Also new is the Underwater Imaging and Metrology track, chaired by Simon Waterfield, head of Survey Support Group at Sonardyne, and Blair Cunningham, president of Technology & Divisional CEO of Coda Octopus Products. This technological showcase will demonstrate the economic and operational benefits of real-time imaging.

The Wednesday programme is rounded off by part two of the Unmanned Vehicles & Vessels track.

Finally, two tracks are scheduled for Thursday, 15 March 2018. Marine Renewables, chaired by Dr Zoe Roberts, senior metocean analyst at Vattenfall Wind Power (UK), and Dr Stephen Wyatt, research & disruptive innovation director at the Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult, will confront the myriad technological and practical issues surrounding the development, installation and maintenance of the offshore renewable infrastructure.

Read more HERE.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>